$8 Night Stand Table

I got this piece a few weeks ago at a garage sale around the corner from our apartment. I went in the afternoon and couldn’t believe it was still there. I knew exactly what I wanted to do with it. I’ve seen a few posts on Pinterest with tables like this where you wallpaper the inside. That was my original plan; however, when I started looking for wallpaper I realized how expensive it was and how hard it was to come by these days in a pattern that is modern. I did some research and found a much cheaper and probably easier alternative. Fabric and mod podge. This combo works wonders and I will definitely be using it in the future. It took me a while to pick my colors. I had grey in mind and originally was thinking a mint color for the paint. After some googling, some pretty coral pieces caught my eye and I was hooked.

Image

Being new to all of this wood working stuff, I asked my brother what kind of prepping this piece needed before I started to paint. He said just some light sanding and I should be good to go. I figured this was the time to buy my first power tool 🙂 I went to Home Depot and got myself a hand sander. I was pretty excited about this sucker and couldn’t wait to use it.

Image
Power tools are awesome.
After sanding all the large surfaces and wiping it clean, I was ready to paint. I had to do about 3 coats for the piece to be evenly covered.
Image
Image

I bought some new hardware at Hobby Lobby which turned out to be quite the process to screw in. With some help from the hubs and a friend of ours, they helped me tackle the drawer pull and we were good to go.

Image
 Next step, fabric! I thought this process was going to be much more difficult than it actually was. The hardest part was actually cutting the fabric so the ends were straight. I used the divots in our porch as a guide 🙂 Once they were cut, I mod podged the inside and used an old ID card to smooth it all out. I cut one big piece for the back and bottom, and two separate pieces for the sides. I put another layer of mod podge over top all the fabric to create a hard finish and help keep it in place.
Image
My original plan was to  leave the top with nothing on it, but I wasn’t sold on the way it was looking. I happened to have some left over grey paint from when I painted our bathroom and it was a perfect match.
ImageFor $8 this piece was definitely worth it! I’m proud to say that I have sold this to a young woman on Craigslist – my first sell! I hope it’s happy in it’s new home!
night_stand
Leave a Reply

